top of page

The Confessions of a Coffee-aholic

I’ve been drinking coffee since I was a teenager and when I look back on my younger days I recall having a good giggle with my Dad and brother over a cup of coffee. Coffee is ace and I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like coffee. What’s not to like about coffee? It warms you up in the winter more than wearing thick pyjamas. If I ever have a late night watching something like ‘Bridget Jones’ or ‘The Bourne Identity’ I’ll almost certainly need coffee in the morning to rescue me.

I go to lots of venues for coffee so I thought it would be a fun idea to consider these places, as a subject for this blog, and decide which is my favourite.

Coffee at Home

I love having coffee in my house, well who wouldn’t? It’s relaxing! It’s great to have a coffee in front of the TV! I can watch my favourite tv shows: This Morning, Loose Women, 60 Minute Makeover and of course Coronation Street. My favourite Corrie character is Steve McDonald because he’s funny. I remember on one episode Steve went into Roy’s Rolls and ordered a coffee, I couldn’t help but roar with laughter when Steve sat down and supped a mug of the hot stuff, it was like he was having a coffee with me.

McDonald’s

My Wellbeing worker often drives me to McDonald’s for caffeination. I enjoy our car journeys to McDonald’s because I think my Wellbeing worker is hilarious, he’s almost as funny as Steve McDonald. The music he plays is fantastic too and I can’t stop rocking to the funky beats, it’s like I’m a funkasaurus.

The coffee in McDonald’s is delicious, especially the cappuccino. Tasty and great value for money, the perfect combination. I am often tempted by the burgers but manage to behave myself. The staff are also pleasant, so McDonald’s gets a double thumbs up from me.

On the way back we stop at the shop for vital provisions which includes noodles, milk and sausage rolls for the weekend. I don’t mind admitting this, sausage rolls are the perfect companion for an evening watching Emmerdale.

Diggles

Diggles is perhaps my favourite café in Lancaster. You can sit inside and out and you’ll occasionally see me there with a bacon sarnie (and extra ketchup). Diggles has been an important social venue for me, I have met friends there for a coffee and a catch up chat.

I’ve had top quality conversations at Diggles about winning the lottery. If I won a million big ones then I’d go on holiday, buy a new house, and buy a helicopter to ride to Paris and have a massive party with a thousand sausage rolls! I’d also give a bit to charity too.

I’ve been going to Diggles for at least a couple of years and it’s safe to say I’ve gulped down a serious amount of cappuccino, probably enough to sink a ship!

So as you can see I’m absolutely coffee mad. I love staying in for a coffee at my house because I don’t have to make much effort and I feel comfortable. However, my coffee isn’t quite up to the standard of a McDonald’s cappuccino. If you haven’t tried a McDonald’s coffee then put it on your bucket list because it’s tasty, creamy and as smooth as a Galaxy bar.

As ace as drinking coffee at my house and McDonald’s is, it is in actual fact Diggles which is my favourite place. The cappuccino is at least as good as McDonald’s but it’s more than that, I have fantastic memories at Diggles and even drinking there alone gives me a tremendous sense of independence.

About the Author

Creative Support blogger extraordinaire Charlotte Livingston loves eating bananas on toast because it’s, as she puts it, ‘yummy’.

In her twenties Charlotte enjoyed the night club scene and once rode her bicycle from Lancaster to the Warehouse club in Preston for a night on the dancefloor, now that’s dedication!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page