top of page

Exceedingly Good

On the ninth of June Richard (a popular staff member) and I went on a visit to Xeed, at the Strathmore hotel in Morecambe. It was an inspiring and exciting time. I was fortunate enough to interview Chlöe, one of the leaders of Xeed. The interview was very informative and Chlöe was pleasant and easy to talk to; I’d even go as far as to say her interview was revealing and inspirational.

Firstly I thanked her for agreeing to the interview. Then I asked her, what drew her to Xeed. Chlöe explained that she had spent twelve months bed bound. She was waiting for an operation. After the operation was complete, she decided that she wanted to help others to cope with life changing events.

Chlöe informed me that Xeed started in Kendal, but then closed and moved to Morecambe. As a caring community of people, members of Xeed support each other through a range of issues from isolation and depression to stress. In this uncertain age, where the previously mentioned conditions are rampant in day to day living, it’s refreshing, and even vital, that an organisation with Xeed’s attributes exists.

Twenty people attend sessions and social events, going out for meals together. At Xeed you can receive encouragement and make new friends. The meeting I attended was relaxed and friendly. The atmosphere and conversations were inspiring. I am certain that the future will be positive and the start of new beginnings for all participants.

As our interview drew to a close I asked Chlöe, ‘Where do you see Xeed going in the future?’

Chlöe replied, ‘To continue to support existing members and reaching out to new people. So don’t feel that no one cares, come along and find new inspiration and encouragement.’

I’d like to echo Chlöe’s sentiments, please don’t feel alone, there are caring people reaching out to you and opportunities to connect with great people.

This was an exciting and vibrant visit. On our way back, Richard, our gregarious health and well being worker in Lancaster, turned to look at me and asked me if I’d like to visit Xeed again.

I gave him a two word answer: ‘You betcha!’

Richard smiled and chuckled. ‘Good stuff,’ he replied.

See you soon Xeed and thank you Chlöe!

Chlöe - In Her Own Words

‘I had always had a busy life, had two jobs, a university student, always at the gym or going out with friends and At the age of 19, I suddenly developed back pain – through no injury it was just a natural condition. I had to give up my jobs and university, I spent a year in bed before my first surgery – I had endless hospital appointments for scans to identify the problem and then tried treatment after treatment before surgery. I was diagnosed with degenerative disc disease and because of that I am left with agonising chronic back pain. I have lived like this for six years and have tried every treatment possible including two major reconstructive spinal surgeries which both failed. I was severely depressed and my physio noticed that I was only getting dressed to go to her appointments and not really leaving the house for anything other than appointments so she referred me to Xeed where I went on the ‘managing life changes’ course. Going to Xeed was the best thing I ever did and the course helped me dramatically which is why I trained up to teach the course myself and help Janette run Xeed. I feel like I finally have a purpose and seeing the difference in people from the first week of joining to where they are now is so rewarding when they tell you what a difference Xeed has made to their life.’

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page