top of page

Striking the Right Note

We have tons of quality blogs on NLCIS’s website covering a range of topics: local organisations; a fantastic blog tackling cigarette smoking addiction by our very own well being worker in Lancaster, Richard Hindle; we even have a couple of blogs on photography.

But have we got a blog on music?

I don’t think so.

Which is why I thought I’d write about the subject of music on this very blog.

Let’s start with a quote from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night:

‘If music is the food of love, play on.’

The above quote sums up my thoughts on music. Music can have a stimulating and soothing effect. My partner and I are entranced with the classical music of Andrei Rieu, a Dutch born violin player, living with his wife and family in Maastricht. Andrei’s musical performances are supported by a fine, mixed national orchestra.

I realise classical music isn’t to everyone’s taste, but (thankfully to some) classical music isn’t the only genre out there, there is a wide variety of music today from the soft pop of Michael Bolton to the heavy thrash metal of Slipknot and everything in between. As Andrei Rieu said in one of his DVDs, ‘Music brings people together.’

Suffering from mental health issues, I find music quietens my teeming thoughts, eases stress and lightens my anxiety. It has an almost magical effect on me. When I’m performing or listening to music I can safely leave behind the storm of troubles and I’m able to focus on things in a calmer and quieter manner. I also play the harmonica which I get pleasure from; I have played the harmonica for seven years.

My own interest in music started when I was young. When I pranced playfully from the lounge to the kitchen to the dining room my footsteps would be accompanied by a musical melody from my mouth; or to put it in plain English: I’d sing all day and night from room to room.

I enjoy Country and Western by singers like Jim Reeves, Johnny Cash and Kenny Rodgers to name a few! I’m also proud of the fact that I sung in a church choir. You’ll also find me singing at the mental health concert held annually at the end of the year in Lancaster.

You may or may not play an instrument or sing, but if you don’t it doesn’t matter because music doesn’t discriminate against its voyeurs. In fact music wouldn’t have the impact it has without the lovers of music, so listen to your heart’s content guilt free. Perhaps you’ve had a wretched day and feel like saying, ‘Stop the world, I want to get off,’ if that’s the case, listen to music it helps to quieten the chaos of your thoughts, and carries you in its arms to quieter places. Give yourself a few minutes a day to have a delicious listen; you’d be surprised how much perspective you gain. It works for me and will probably work for you, trust me I should know, I’m a harmonica player!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page